Sweet Castle Alabama

Where the lake is so blue…

 

WELCOME BACK!

If you’re like me, you’re in the thick of back-to-school madness🤪and could use a 5-minute diversion into the world of weird and wonderful real estate. As you know, each week, I share a deep dive into one of my favorite unique listings, followed by lots more links to peruse down below.

Today, Estate Media launched, and I am so excited. Estate is the company behind this newsletter, and they’ve partnered with over 20 of the top real estate agents and pros around the world, including Million Dollar Listing LA star Tracy Tutor, social media megastars Glennda Baker and Aaron Grushow, and top agents and brokers like Ricky Carruth (Alabama’s top broker), Tony Corban (Top UK real estate personality) and…. me!

Together with these pros, we’re releasing a slate of podcasts, digital series, and courses to inform and entertain. And we can’t wait to share this incredible content with you.

Learn more about Estate Media and check out our latest resources here, or follow us online for real-time real estate: Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, or YouTube.

Ok, now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Today, we’ve got some 📼Eighties Estates, 🦄Kids’ Kaverns, Formerly Forums (think schools and churches), and 👻Spooky Shacks! Want to see more of something? My DMs are always open, just let me know!

This Castle Just Needs a Royal Family

Welcome to the shores of Smith Lake in Bremen, Alabama. This man-made lake is about 45 miles north of Birmingham, and it’s home to its own real-life castle. Check it out:

This is the view from the lake, but what’s crazy cool about this castle is it looks like a (mostly) ordinary contemporary when you approach from the driveway.

It’s like this house has a secret identity. Let’s take a peek inside. This castle is just shy of 5,000 square feet, with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms and LOTS of cool spaces to explore.

The cabinetry is a little ‘90s, but I would love to cook and entertain in this open kitchen with a huge window overlooking the lake.

This is part of the main floor, which also boasts a dinette with views and a sitting area complete with a fireplace.

The bedrooms are also spacious. I love the giant windows, and at this height, you don’t much have to worry about boaters-by peeping in from

This en suite bathroom is where this house starts to veer into “zillowtastrophe” territory—the tilework is giving a slight… snakeskin vibe?

The stories are all connected with sweeping spiral staircases, and the top level is an office/study with a ton of charm, a ton of space, and a ton of windows. Even though the fixtures and decor are a darker palette than the rest of the house, that natural light is something else.

But let me show you WHY this house is the BEST house for natural light. I’ve been holding back on showing you this, but I can’t wait anymore.

Drum roll please

Let me hear a giant round of applause for this 2-STORY SOLARIUM.

Here’s what it looks like from the exterior:

I’ve never seen anything like it, but I want it. I want to sit in there on a rainy evening listening to the soft patter and watching streams trickle down the expansive glass. I want to watch late-night lightning storms. I want to see the sunrise with a warm glow as I sip my gourmet coffee and collect my thoughts before a busy day…

For lakeside fun, there are balconies, decks, patios, and lawns at every level of the castle. The staircases to the lake are a bit intimidating, so make sure you don’t forget your sunscreen when you head down for a swim! This path also has a grotto, which is neat, but I feel like a ski-lift would do wonders for this place.

At the dock, you’ll find plenty of space to sit back and relax, plus four boat slips (two with lifts!) and a boathouse complete with a couple of bunks and a fishing hole.

If the 90’s decor and endless stairs aren’t dealbreakers for you, you might have to be a lottery winner to consider it; it clocks in at $4,900,000.

What do you think? Rule this castle or rule it out?

‘Til next time, your friend,

More Hidden Gems & Outright Disasters

📼Eighties Estates

🦄Kids’ Kaverns

Is this the only tree house in Manhattan?

⛪Former Forums

👻Spooky Shacks

Is this the entrance to the Upside Down?

🗞️Zillowtastrophes in the News